Let Me Introduce Myself

Welcome! I am excited to share with you a mix of content that will include my latest projects, hobbies, pets, technology discoveries and more... Follow the journey of discovery and creativity with me!

๐Ÿ‘ถ๐Ÿผ Me now

I have over 12 years' experience designing and implementing IT and A/V systems in the Residential and Marine industries. I've worked around Auckland and many other locations worldwide.

Outside of work, I enjoy DIY projects such as gardening, home improvement and automation, and traveling. I also maintain a beautiful planted tropical aquarium with Discus that I will show off in a later post.

๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿผโ€๐Ÿ’ป Future me

I've long had an interest in software development and have gained some experience professionally and through several personal projects. In 2022 I decided to persue this interest by learning modern web development.

My latest project is the rebuild of my personal site, moving from a Squarespace template to a custom Next.js application with Tailwind and MDX. I have many ideas for improvements to this site and will regularly push updates through GitHub.

I'm also about 80% through the JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures course from freeCodeCamp and hope to have that completed within the next couple of weeks.

Once I have a better handle of software development, I'd like to turn my focus to creating an aquarium maintenence app for my personal use and to share with the community of hobbyists ๐Ÿ .

P.S. I live in a home owned by two beautiful cats (Cooper & Riley). Be ready to see many photos of themโ€ฆ Starting with this photo of the adorable Baby Coops keeping me productive.